Sat 11 Sep 2021
1:00pm | €16/13
Sat 11 Sep 2021
1:00pm | €16/13
Sold Out

Ian Wilson’s ‘Across a clear blue sky’ was written in 2009, inspired by Seamus Heaney’s poem ‘Horace and the Thunder’, written following the attacks on New York’s World Trade Center on September 11th 2001.

The Esposito Quartet opens this autumn season with performances marking the twentieth anniversary of that atrocity. Ian Wilson’s work is followed by Korngold’s first quartet, completed in Vienna in 1923. The programme opens with Mozart’s great F major quartet from 1790, famously written for the cellist King of Prussia.

Esposito Quartet

Mia Cooper
Anna Cashell
Joachim Roewer
William Butt


Mozart – Quartet in F major K.590
Ian Wilson – ‘Across a Clear Blue Sky’
Korngold – Quartet No.1

Autumn String Series

This autumn, we partner once again with the National String Quartet Foundation to bring four wonderful quartets to the people of Cork.

Sat 11 Sept – Esposito Quartet
Sat 9 Oct – Callino Quartet
Sat 27 Nov – Navarra Quartet
Sat 11 Dec – Ficino Quartet

See more info at Autumn String Series 2021

Sold Out