Sat 13 Nov 2021
1:00pm | €12/10 | Promo codes can be applied at checkout
Sat 13 Nov 2021
1:00pm | €12/10 | Promo codes can be applied at checkout

The third concert in the Spotlight Chamber Music Series will feature some of the most distinguished string instrumentalists in Ireland, presenting a programme of Baroque, Classical and Contemporary works for different formations.

Purcell’s renowned Chacony, or chaconne, is an outstanding example of the Baroque mastery of this ostinato form, which encompasses a series of variations over a repeated eight-bar bassline. Originally composed for a group of viols, it will be performed here by a string quartet. Northern Irish composer Elaine Agnew’s work Three Angry Men! will follow. This was written in 1991 for string trio and comprises three sections – “Angrily!”, “Furious!” and “Calm!”. The programme will conclude with Beethoven’s String Quintet in C Major, nicknamed “The Storm” on account of its muscular and turbulent finale. Written in 1801 in the early stages of Beethoven’s middle compositional period, it is a work brimming with vitality and optimism.


Joanne Quigley McParland – Violin
Larissa O’Grady – Violin
Simon Aspell – Viola
Séamus Hickey – Viola
Yseult Cooper-Stockdale – Cello


Purcell: Chacony in G minor, Z. 730
Elaine Agnew: Three Angry Men! for String Trio
Beethoven: String Quintet in C Major, Op. 29

Spotlight Chamber Music Series

The Spotlight Chamber Music Series returns to Triskel this Autumn/Winter. This popular series is based on the principle of bringing together some of Ireland’s most dynamic and distinguished musicians to play with one another in small ensembles. Funded by the Arts Council and supported by Triskel, these concerts showcase a wide range of repertoire and a wide variety of instrumental formations. Each concert features a work by a contemporary female Irish composer.

See full info »

Book Tickets