Sat 3 Nov 2018
1:00pm | €14/11 | Promo codes can be applied at checkout
Sat 3 Nov 2018
1:00pm | €14/11 | Promo codes can be applied at checkout

Formed in Bucharest in 1995, Galway’s Ensemble in Residence since 2003 and RTÉ’s Resident Quartet since 2013, the multiple award-winning ConTempo Quartet is Ireland’s longest established string quartet.

They combine performance of the classical quartet repertoire with a strong commitment to Ireland’s composers. Haydn’s glorious, uplifting ‘Sunrise’ Quartet is contrasted in this programme with Cork composer Linda Buckley’s moving tribute to the great Hungarian composer Bela Bartok. The ConTempo are joined by former members of the Vanbrugh Quartet, Simon Aspell and Christopher Marwood, for Brahms’ magical G major sextet.

Bogdan Sofei, violin
Ingrid Nicola, violin
Andreea Banciu, viola
Adrian Mantu, cello

With guests
Simon Aspell, viola
Christopher Marwood, cello

Haydn: String Quartet in B flat major, Op. 76 No. 4 ‘Sunrise’
Linda Buckley: ‘Haza’, for string quartet and electronics
Brahms: String Sextet in G major Op.36

Quartets At Triskel – Autumn Series 2018

Presented by Triskel Arts Centre in association with the National String Quartet Foundation

The National String Quartet Foundation is committed to bringing live chamber music to audiences throughout Ireland and to creating and supporting performance opportunities for Irish musicians. This autumn series at Triskel offers recitals by four top flight quartets playing a wide variety of music from the 18th, 19th, 20th and 21st centuries. The series forms part of a nationwide season which presents eight string quartets, all based in Ireland or with Irish connections, in more than thirty concerts. Full details are at

See all shows in this series »

Season ticket €42/€33 + €1 booking fee on each ticket

Book Tickets