The Vanbrugh Quartet Autumn Concert Series

Saturday 5 September 2015
The Vanbrugh Quartet Autumn Concert Series

1st in a 4 Concert Series

Mozart Quartet in G major K.387
Kraggerud “Preghiera”
Schubert Quartetsatz in C minor D.703

Two of Mozart’s finest quartets link the Vanbrugh Quartet’s first two Saturday lunchtime concerts this Autumn. On Sat 5th September the bright, optimistic G major quartet K.387 is programmed with two miniatures, Henning Kraggerud’s impassioned “Preghiera” and Schubert’s perfectly formed “Quartetsatz”.

The second concert (Sat 3rd October) contrasts Mozart’s brooding D minor quartet with the epic romanticism of Tchaikovsky’s third quartet.

In December the Vanbrugh present another pair of concerts, this time connected by Beethoven’s first two string quartets. No.1 in F major (5th December) is paired with Shostakovich’s tenth quartet and the series ends with Beethoven’s G major quartet Op.18 No.2 and the sunny melancholy of Dvorak’s “American” Quartet.

The Vanbrugh Quartet are Gregory Ellis – violin, Keith Pascoe – violin, Simon Aspell – viola, Christopher Marwood – cello

Tickets are free and available from Triskel Box Office from 10am performance day.


Photo credit: Miki Barlok

1. Please note all performances in Triskel Christchurch begin at 8pm sharp (unless otherwise stated).
Latecomers may enter on applause only

2. Going into Christchurch? Plastic glasses only

Season At A Glance